Galway (Irish: Gaillimh, pronounced (ˈGal’iv) or City of Galway (Cathair na Gaillimhe) is a city in County Galway, Republic of Ireland. It is the sixth largest and the fastest-growing city in Ireland. It is also the third largest city within the Republic and the only city in the Province of Connacht. Located on the west coast of Ireland, it sits on the River Corrib between Lough Corrib and Galway Bay. The population of Galway’s Borough area is 79,934 according to the 2016 census.

Public Transport:

Bus: Provided by Bus Eireann within the city. Intercity and regional transport is supplied by Bus Eireann, Gobus and Citylink. Other private operators provide services to numerous locations.

Train: Irish Rail provides services to Dublin and Limerick regularly throughout the day with onward connections to all the major cities in Ireland.

Airports: There are two international Airports nearby at Shannon Airport, Co. Clare and at Knock West Airport in Co. Mayo both are just over an hour away. Dublin Airport is just under 3 hrs away; all are assessable by public or private transport.

Ferry Ports: Galway is about three hours from all the main ferry ports of Dublin and Dun Laoghaire, Co. Dublin, Rosslare, County Wexford and Cork and about four hours to the port of Larne, near Belfast.

Taxi: A taxi service is available 24 hours a day all year round.